The United Church of Canada joins Affirm United/S’affirmer Ensemble and Affirming Connections in urging individuals and communities of faith to commit to concerted efforts to be Public, Intentional,… continue reading
Public, Intentional, and Explicit call to action against 2SLGBTQIA+ hate" href="/news/public-intentional-and-explicit-call-action-against-2slgbtqia-hate"> Heart-shaped Progressive Pride flag
In her National Affirming/PIE Day message, Moderator Carmen Lansdowne encourages us all to look for ways to build relationships outside our communities of faith and truly show up in a public way in… continue reading
Moderator’s PIE Day Message 2024" href="/news/moderators-pie-day-message-2024">
War in Gaza possibly “deadliest 100 days” of the 21st century according to report from UN regional commission.
ACT Alliance Shares UN Regional Report on Gaza " href="/news/act-alliance-shares-un-regional-report-gaza"> Ruins of destroyed buildings in Gaza
Two years in, the war in Ukraine continues. A letter written by ecumenical leaders invites us to pray and continue actions for peace in Ukraine.
Peace in and for Ukraine: An Ecumenical Letter" href="/news/peace-and-ukraine-ecumenical-letter"> Closeup of a map of Ukraine and surrounding countries
A round up of the stories this week as the United Church celebrates International Development Week 2024.
International Development Week 2024 Round Up" href="/news/international-development-week-2024-round"> Doreen Mwende looks at her maize crop
United Church minister’s interfaith work will be recognized by Manitoba’s Lieutenant Governor in a ceremony on February 6
Rev. Dr. Loraine MacKenzie Shepherd Receives Provincial Award" href="/news/rev-dr-loraine-mackenzie-shepherd-receives-provincial-award"> Portrait of Rev. Dr. Loraine MacKenzie Shepherd
Statement of The United Church of Canada on the January 26, 2024 ruling of the International Court of Justice on South Africa’s request for provisional measures against Israel.
International Court of Justice Rules on South Africa’s Genocide Application " href="/news/international-court-justice-rules-south-africas-genocide-application"> The court room of the International Court of Justice, with judges, plaintiffs, and lawyers present.
Executive director of Department of Service to Palestinian Refugees Near East Council of Churches (DSPR-NECC) writes Global Partnership staff in gratitude for supporting the work in Gaza and the… continue reading
Partners report public health catastrophe unfolding in Gaza" href="/news/partners-report-public-health-catastrophe-unfolding-gaza"> A young man leads a large group of children in a game.
General Secretary the Rev. Michael Blair urges the Canadian government to support South Africa's application to the International Court of Justice on Israel's breach of its obligations under the… continue reading
Canada should support South Africa's application to the ICJ" href="/news/canada-should-support-south-africas-application-icj"> Hands release a peace dove against a sunset background
On January 11, 2023, five Water Defenders were arrested in Santa Marta, El Salvador, by the country’s Attorney General’s Office and National Civil Police. One year later, they’re still detained.
Report Advocates for Release of Santa Marta 5 " href="/news/report-advocates-release-santa-marta-5"> A sign in Spanish advocating for the release of the Santa Marta 5